If Demian Maia needed to make a statement at UFC on FOX 21 to warrant his shot at the welterweight title, he did it.

Maia, a one-time challenger to UFC middleweight gold, choked out former interim UFC welterweight champion Carlos Condit in under two minutes of the main event from Vancouver. With the win, Maia has now reeled off six consecutive victories, including back-to-back submissions of Condit and Matt Brown.

Former UFC lightweight champion Anthony Pettis made a stunning debut at featherweight, submitting Brazilian jiu-jitsu master Charles Oliveira in the third round. “Showtime,” who had lost three straight via decision, made the move down to 145 pounds and looked like his old self.

Paige VanZant proved all the doubters, including Bec Rawlings, wrong, as the 22-year-old earned a second round finish with a devastating head-kick. VanZant, who took time off earlier this year to compete on “Dancing with the Stars,” hit the highlight-reel move after struggling in the first.

The FOX main card kicked off with a rematch, as Jim Miller picked up a split decision over Joe Lauzon. Miller tied Gleison Tibau with his 16th lightweight win inside the Octagon.

Sam Alvey, Felipe Silva and Chad Laprise all scored finishes on the prelims, while Kyle Bochniak, Alessio Di Chirico and Jeremy Kennedy earned decisions.

Miller and Lauzon were awarded “Fight of the Night,” while Maia and VanZant picked up “Performance of the Night” bonuses. The attendance inside Rogers Arena was announced at 10,533 with a total gate of $995,624 (Canadian).

Complete results can be found below:

Demian Maia def. Carlos Condit via submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:52 of Round 1

Anthony Pettis def. Charles Oliveira via submission (guillotine choke) at 1:49 of Round 3

Paige VanZant def. Bec Rawlings via KO (head-kick) at :17 of Round 2

Jim Miller def. Joe Lauzon via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Sam Alvey def. Kevin Casey via TKO (strikes) at 4:56 of Round 2

Kyle Bochniak def. Enrique Barzola via split decision (29-28, 27-30, 29-28)

Alessio Di Chirico def. Garreth McLellan via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Felipe Silva def. Shane Campbell via TKO (strikes) at 1:13 of Round 1

Chad Laprise def. Thibault Gouti via TKO (strikes) at 1:36 of Round 1

Jeremy Kennedy def. Alessandro Ricci via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)