Stephen Thompson – at least for one night – showed why karate just might be a more dangerous weapon in MMA than wrestling.

“Wonderboy” finished former UFC welterweight champion Johny Hendricks, dealing “Bigg Rigg” his first stoppage loss, in the main event of UFC Fight Night 82 Saturday from Las Vegas.

Thompson continued his march towards challenging for the belt, connecting early in the first round to gain the win.

In the co-main event, Roy Nelson capped off a run of three consecutive main card decisions with a victory over Jared Rosholt. Ovince Saint Preux and Joseph Benavidez each did the same vs. Rafael “Feijao” Cavalcante and Zach Makovsky.

Misha Cirkunov did not give Alex Nicholson a present following his proposal on Friday, submitting the Octagon newcomer in the second round. Mike Pyle kicked off the main card with a third round TKO of Sean Spencer.

On the prelims, Josh Burkman defeated K.J. Noons, Derrick Lewis finished Damian Grabowski, Justin Scoggins scored a decision over Ray Borg and Diego Rivas landed a perfect flying knee that ended the night of Noad Lahat.

Mickey Gall earned his future meeting with former pro wrestling superstar Phil “CM Punk” Brooks by submitting Mike Jackson and Alex White began the night with a decision over Artem Lobov.

Pyle and Spencer earned “Fight of the Night,” with Thompson and Rivas picking up “Performance of the Night” bonuses. All four scored an additional $50,000.

The attendance inside the MGM Grand Garden Arena was announced at 7,422 with a live gate of $1.435 million. The event was expected to be UFC 196 featuring Fabricio Werdum vs. Cain Velasquez for the heavyweight title, but that bout was scrapped due to injuries.

Complete results can be found below:

Event Date: 2016/02/06
Venue: MGM Grand Garden Arena
Location: Las Vegas

Stephen Thompson def. Johny Hendricks via TKO (strikes) at 3:31 of Round 1

Roy Nelson def. Jared Rosholt via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Ovince Saint Preux def. Rafael “Feijao” Cavalcante via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Joseph Benavidez def. Zach Makovsky via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Misha Cirkunov def. Alex Nicholson via submission (neck crank) at 1:28 of Round 2

Mike Pyle def. Sean Spencer via TKO (strikes) at 4:25 of Round 3

Josh Burkman def. K.J. Noons via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Derrick Lewis def. Damian Grabowski via TKO (strikes) at 2:17 of Round 1

Justin Scoggins def. Ray Borg via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Diego Rivas def. Noad Lahat via KO (flying knee) at :23 of Round 2

Mickey Gall def. Mike Jackson via submission (rear-naked choke) at :45 of Round 1

Alex White def. Artem Lobov via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)