A historic night went down inside the SAP Center in San Jose Saturday night at Bellator: Dynamite 1.

Liam McGeary has spectacular knockouts on his resume and a convincing decision win to claim the Bellator light heavyweight title.

Now, McGeary is the proud holder of a first round submission win over Tito Ortiz in the main event to retain his title. The champion was dominated for almost four minutes, but slipped the submission on and claimed his 11th career win.

Phil Davis didn’t let a last-minute change in opponent worry him, scoring a first round finish of Francis Carmont in the finals of the light heavyweight tournament and becoming the No. 1 contender. Carmont stepped in for Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal, who was not allowed to compete after suffering a rib injury in the semifinals earlier in the night.

For the second time, Saulo Cavalari claimed a victory over Zack Mwekassa, but this one resulted in the Glory light heavyweight title going around his waist. Cavalari earned a majority decision despite being deducted a point early in the five-round contest.

The Bellator debut of Josh Thomson was just as the San Jose native had hoped, scoring a third round submission victory over Mike Bronzoulis. Thomson dominated the first two rounds with his wrestling, scoring a takedown in the third and immediately locking up the choke.

Paul Daley and Fernando Gonzalez, a pair of welterweight contenders in Bellator, fought it out inside the Glory kickboxing ring. Daley earned his 21st career kickboxing win with a decision victory over Gonzalez.

Kerri Melendez, the wife of Gilbert Melendez, made her debut with a decision victory over Hadley Griffith for Glory kickboxing. She’s planning a 2016 move to MMA for Bellator, but didn’t rule out a return to kickboxing in the future.

The bout was the first female fight to take place under Glory kickboxing rules.

Davis, making his Bellator debut, scored a submission win in the first round over former champion Emanuel Newton to advance to the finals. Lawal did the same with a decision vs. Linton Vassell before being ruled medically unfit to compete.

Bellator and Spike TV also brought out Fedor Emelianenko, announcing that the heavyweight will return on a New Year’s Eve card in Japan that will air on the network. Bellator is expected to help promote the card and provide fighters.

Results can be found below:

Liam McGeary def. Tito Ortiz via submission (inverted triangle choke) at 4:41 of Round 1 to retain the Bellator light heavyweight championship

Phil Davis def. Francis Carmont via KO (strikes) at 2:15 of Round 1 to win the light heavyweight tournament

Saulo Cavalari def. Zack Mwekassa via majority decision (48-46, 48-46, 47-47) to become the Glory light heavyweight champion

Josh Thomson def. Mike Bronzoulis via submission (head-and-arm choke) at :39 of Round 3

Paul Daley def. Fernando Gonzalez via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

Kerri Melendez def. Hadley Griffith via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)

Phil Davis def. Emanuel Newton via submission (kimura) at 4:39 of Round 1

Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal def. Linton Vassell via unanimous decision

Serhiy Adamchuk def. Anvar Bonyazarov via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Gabriel Carrasco def. Joe Neal via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Adam Piccolotti def. Salvador Becerra via submission (neck crank) at 1:47 of Round 2

Thomas Diagne vs. Mike Malott ruled a majority draw (29-28 Diagne, 28-28, 28-28)

Francis Carmont def. Anthony Ruiz via decision

Jose Palacios def. T.J. Arcangel via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)