Behind a strong performance, Will Brooks made a successful first title defense of his Bellator lightweight belt, turning back the challenge of Dave Jansen Friday night at Bellator 136.

Brooks, who won the title after twice besting Michael Chandler in 2014, earned a decision victory on all three scorecards. He was awarded four of the five rounds vs. Jansen.

Rafael Carvalho picked up a split decision victory over Joe Schilling in the co-main event, while Marcin Held kept his name on the short list of 155-pound contenders with a third round submission win over Alexander Sarnavskiy.

Other winners were Tony Johnson, A.J. McKee, Joey Beltran, Saad Awad and John Teixeira.

Complete results can be found below:

Will Brooks def. Dave Jansen via unanimous decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46) to retain the Bellator lightweight championship

Rafael Carvalho def. Joe Schilling via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)

Marcin Held def. Alexander Sarnavskiy via verbal submission (knee-bar) at 1:11 of Round 3

Tony Johnson def. Alexander Volkov via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Joey Beltran def. Brian Rogers via majority decision (28-28, 29-28, 29-27)

Saad Awad def. Rob Sinclair via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

John Teixeira def. Fabricio Guerreiro via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

A.J. McKee def. Marcos Bonilla via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:08 of Round 1

Chad George def. Mark Vorgeas via technical submission (Von Flue choke) at 3:37 of Round 1

Justin Governale def. Jay Bogan via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:09 of Round 2

Steve Ramirez def. Jonathan Santa Maria via submission (toe hold) at 3:29 of Round 1

Chris Herrera and Luc Bondole fought to a draw

Cleber Luciano def. Aaron Miller via submission (armbar) at 4:36 of Round 2