A little less than seven years ago, a BJJ specialist by the name of Fabricio Werdum crossed paths with Top 5 talent Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira under the PRIDE banner. Tonight, the two heavyweights tussled again with a drastically different set of circumstances at play. Not only did the action occur inside the Octagon at UFC on Fuel 10 but came with the backdrop of Brazil and with both men at different stages of their respective careers.

Entering the affair, the 16-5-1 Werdum had won five of his last six scraps including victories over Fedor Emelianenko, Antonio Silva, and Roy Nelson. Meanwhile, the 37-year old Nogueira (34-7-1) was coming off a submission of Dave Herman but has alternated between wins/losses for the last five years. When the smoke cleared, Werdum came away with his hand raised as the result of an Armbar. The submission came in the second round of a competitive clash after “Minotauro” verbally tapped to the technique.

Other bouts lined up for this evening’s affair included Jason High-Erick Silva, Rafael Cavalcante-Thiago Silva, and the Ultimate Fighter Brasil 2 final between Leo Santos-William Macario. Both Silvas made quick work of their opponents, picking up first frame finishes in each effort, while Santos earned a submission nod in his scrap. After the bout featherweight champ Jose Aldo was shown to visibly emotional as a result of his close friend’s victory.

A full rundown of UFC on Fuel 10 winners/losers can be found below:

Antonio Neto def. Anthony Smith via Submission Round 1 (Kneebar)
Caio Magalhaes def. Karlos Vemola via Submission Round 2 (Rear-Naked Choke)
Rodrigo Damm def. Mizuto Hirota via Split Decision
Ildemar Alcantara def. Leandro Silva via Unanimous Decision
Felipe Arantes def. Godofredo “Pepey” via TKO Round 1 (Strikes)
Raphael Assuncao def. Vaughan Lee via Submission Round 2 (Armbar)
Rony “Jason” def. Mike Wilkinson via Technical Submission (Triangle Choke)
Daniel Sarafian def. Eddie Mendez via Submission Round 1 (Arm-Triangle Choke)
Erick Silva def. Jason High via Submission Round 1 (Armbar)
Thiago Silva def. Rafael Cavalcante via Knockout Round 1 (Strikes)
Leo Santos def. William Macario via Submission Round 2 (Arm-Triangle Choke)
Fabricio Werdum def. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira via Verbal Submission Round 2 (Armbar)