twitter google

Bellator 95 Results: Pat Curran chokes Shahbulat Shamhalaev out cold in the first frame

BELLATOR 95 PosterAfter a solid series of shows over Bellator’s initial run on Spike TV, the organization ended Season 8 on a high note with an excellent lineup featuring a bout between respected veterans, two tournament finals, and a championship clash to boot. Bellator 95 unfolded in Atlantic City and was headlined by 145-pound king Pat Curran (18-4) putting his gold up for grabs against surging Russian Shahbulat Shamhalaev (12-1-1).

What started out as a striking battle ended with a grappling exchange after Curran shot in and latched on a Guillotine Choke. Though the hold didn’t draw a tap, it did result in the end of the fight after Shamhalaev went limp. The Technical Submission finish marked the second successful defense of Curran’s career.

Also on tap, Rick Hawn tested his mat-based prowess against fellow judoka Karo Parisyan, while Brett Cooper-Doug Marshall mixed it up in a middleweight final and Mike Richman-Frodo Khasbulaev collided with a title-shot on the line.

Judo never really came into play in the evening’s opener, as Hawn was able to end Parisyan’s night with a powerful right hand in the second stanza, wobbling “The Heat” before a few follow-up shots sealed the deal. Likewise, Marshall scored a knockout of Cooper, earning a crack at champ Alexander Shlemenko in the process as well as a significant payday. Khasbulaev exited his effort with a raised hand as well, outpointing Richman in a hotly contested clash.

Read below for a full rundown of Bellator 95 winners/losers:

Liam McGeary def. Anton Talamantes via TKO Round 1 (Strikes)
Kevin Roddy def. Brylan Van Arstdalen via Submission Round 2 (Armbar)
Will Martinez def. Michael Brent Hess via Knockout Round 1 (Strikes)
Jimmie Rivera def. Brian Kelleher via Unanimous Decision
Phillipe Nover def. Darrell Horcher via Unanimous Decision
Tom DeBlass def. Carlos Brooks via TKO Round 2 (Doctor’s Stoppage – Blurred Vision)
Sam Oropeza def. Shedrick Goodridge via TKO Round 2 (Strikes)
Lyman Good def. Dante Rivera via Unanimous Decision
Rick Hawn def. Karo Parisyan via TKO Round 2 (Strikes)
Doug Marshall def. Brett Cooper via Knockout Round 1 (Strikes)
Frodo Khasbulaev def. Mike Richman via Unanimous Decision
Pat Curran def. Shahbulat Shamhalaev via Technical Submission Round 1 (Guillotine Choke)


  • climbarock says:

    That was an amazing display of grappling by Curran. It was savage and technically beautiful. He embarrassed Shamhalaev. Wow.

  • Angry Mike says:

    I really wanted Karo to do well. But he was out of shape and rusty. Hated to see it. I hope he can get back into condition and gets another shot.

  • Angry Mike says:

    And how about the The Rhino? Old School WEC in da house!

  • MCM says:

    Karo looked to be in the worst shape of his career. IF he comes back, I hope he finally makes the move to LW where he belongs.

    I only caught the televised portion, but the six fights I saw were all great fights.

    Frodo is tough as nails, but won’t have anything for Curran.
    I don’t know what the currant FW rankings are but if Pat Curran isn’t top 5 there is something seriously wrong with he rankings.

    And I’m very impressed with this Liam McGeary fighter. I’d like to see how has career progresses.


You must be logged in to post a comment.