UFC 158 PosterSix of the world’s top welterweights took to the Octagon tonight at UFC 158 with the deserving duo of Georges St-Pierre/Nick Diaz at the top. In addition to being the eighth defense of champion St-Pierre’s current title-reign, the rumble also pitted two rivals against each other in a bout becoming increasingly personal over the past few weeks. Widely considered to be the second best pound-for-pound fighter in the world, GSP entered the bout with an overall record of 23-2 with recent wins against the likes of Josh Koscheck, Jake Shields, and Carlos Condit. Comparably, Diaz was 26-8 and has finished 21 of the foes he’s faced.

When the smoke cleared, St-Pierre’s title-reign remained intact due to a blend of effective striking and relentless takedowns/ground control. Diaz landed little offense throughout the tilt minus an exchange in the third where he got the better of “Rush”. St-Pierre went on to pick up a decision win in standard fashion. After the clash’s conclusion the 29-year old Diaz once again teased the idea of retirement, stating he didn’t like the way things unfolded and wasn’t interested in continuing to get “banged up”.

Also on tap for the show, Johny Hendricks put his claim to top contendership on the line against Condit, while Nate Marquardt returned to the UFC after a stint in Strikeforce and faced Jake Ellenberger in what proved to be an extremely stiff test for the former middleweight. Marquardt suffered a knockout loss to Ellenberger, eating two stiff shots in the late stages of the opening round before “The Juggernaut” rushed in and put a stamp on things with a few more strikes. Meanwhile, Hendricks maintained his status as the #1 challenger to the title with a solid decision win over Condit delivered in large part due to the bearded brawler’s ability to take his foe down on numerous occasions.

A full list of winners/losers can be found below:

George Roop def. Reuben Duran via Unanimous Decision
T.J. Dillashaw def. Issei Tamura via Knockout Round 2 (Strikes)
Rick Story def. Quinn Mulhern via TKO Round 1 (Strikes)
John Makdessi def. Daron Cruickshank via Unanimous Decision
Jordan Mein def. Dan Miller via TKO Round 1 (Strikes)
Darren Elkins def. Antonio Carvalho via TKO Round 1 (Strikes)
Patrick Cote def. Bobby Voelker via Unanimous Decision
Mike Ricci def. Colin Fletcher via Unanimous Decision
Chris Camozzi def. Nick Ring via Split Decision
Jake Ellenberger def. Nate Marquardt via Knockout Round 1 (Strikes)
Johny Hendricks def. Carlos Condit via Unanimous Decision
Georges St-Pierre def. Nick Diaz via Unanimous Decision