Bellator 91 PosterLight heavyweight Christian M’Pumbu (18-4-1) entered tonight with a Bellator belt in his possession since May 2011. However, despite the amount of time involved, he’d never put his gold up for grabs. That changed at Bellator 91 where the Frenchman faced Season 7 tournament winner Attila Vegh in the evening’s main event.

In addition to involving a long overdue title-fight, the headliner also feautred legitimate finishers. M’Pumbu had put fifteen foes away in his career before the bout, while the 28-4-2 Vegh had 21 total stoppages including a near-even split between submissions/TKOs.

Unfortunately, scorecards came into play in the tilt with Vegh looking sharper than M’Pumbu in nearly every exchange. The 27-year old hurt his adversary a few times though couldn’t quite seal the deal. The win was his eighth in a row.

Also slated for the show, Season 8 lightweight semifinals unfolded between David Rickels-Jason Fischer and Saad Awad-Will Brooks. Rickels looked like the favorite he entered the affair as, out-muscling Fischer in numerous instances including a few near-finishes. In the end he earned a Unanimous Decision nod for the effort. Meanwhile, Awad delivered the first loss of Brooks’ career by landing a few big shots early and then pounding out his clearly injured adversary. As a result, he and Rickels will face off next month for a nice paycheck and the right to fight for a championship.

A full list of Bellator 91 outcomes can be found below:

Brennan Ward def. Yair Moguel via Submission Round 1 (Rear-Naked Choke)
Josh Appelt def. Josh Lanier via TKO Round 2 (Strikes)
Adrian Cruz def. Nick Gonzalez via Submission Round 2 (Scarf-Hold Armlock)
Ed West def. Josh Montoya via Knockout Round 2 (Head Kick)
Andres Quintana def. Russell Wilson via TKO Round 3 (Strikes)
Blas Avena def. Lenny Lovato via TKO Round 1 (Strikes)
Holly Holm def. Katie Merrill via TKO Round 2 (Strikes)
David Rickels def. Jason Fischer via Unanimous Decision
Saad Awad def. Will Brooks via TKO Round 1 (Strikes)
Attila Vegh def. Christian M’Pumbu via Unanimous Decision