twitter google

Bellator 90 Results: Emanuel Newton finishes Mo Lawal in Knockout of the Year fashion

Bellator 90 PosterIt was a busy night at Bellator 90, as the promotion delivered tournament action from three divisions! Topping the lineup was the postponed Season 7 featherweight fight between Rad Martinez-Shahbulat Shamhalaev, pitting two of the sport’s rising stars at 145 pounds against each other with a title-shot and sizeable paycheck on the line.

Entering the affair, Shamhalaev held a career mark of 11-1-1 and hadn’t been beaten in ten tilts, while the 14-2 Martinez was overwhelming favorite considering his roots in Utah and the show’s backdrop of Salt Lake City.

When the dust settled, the Russian reigned supreme, smashing Martinez in the second round of their rumble. Shamhalaev hurt Martinez with a series of strikes, and while the hometown product made a valiant attempt at coming back he ultimately gave in to the damage when an overhand right put his lights out. Up next for Shamhalaev is the winner of the upcoming title-fight between Pat Curran (c) and Daniel Straus, slated for April 4.

Also scheduled for the event, Season 8 semifinals will unfold at welterweight between Ben Saunders-Raul Amaya/Douglas Lima-Bryan Baker and light heavyweight Mikhail Zayats-Jacob Noe/Muhammed Lawal-Emanuel Newton. Incredibly, all of the semifinals featured first-frame finishes though none more impressive than Newton’s knockout of Lawal. The stoppage came after Newton landed a perfectly-timed spinning backfist, blasting “King Mo” into la-la land to pull off the upset. Saunders finished Amaya in similarly spectacular fashion with a head kick, while Lima’s hands were too much for Baker and Zayats scored a submission.

Read below for a rundown of Bellator 90 winners/losers:

Shanon Slack def. Josh Tyler via Submission Round 3 (Peruvian Necktie)
Lionel Lanham def. Joe Rodriguez via TKO Round 1 (Strikes)
Sean Powers def. David Allred via Submission Round 3 (Rear-Naked Choke)
Jesse Juarez def. Jordan Smith via Split Decision Travis Marx def. Chase Beebe via Unanimous Decision
Ben Saunders def. Raul Amaya via Knockout Round 1 (Head Kick)
Mikhail Zayats def. Jacob Noe via Submission Round 1 (Armbar)
Douglas Lima def. Bryan Baker via TKO Round 1 (Strikes)
Emanuel Newton def. Mo Lawal via Knockout Round 1 (Spinning Backfist)
Shahbulat Shamhalaev def. Rad Martinez via Knockout Round 2 (Strikes)


  • darth_irritable says:

    That was epic. I’d never have believed someone would go out like that.

  • MCM says:

    just catching the fights now, (stupid west coast time) and…..DAMN!!!! that was a hell of a KO by Newton!

    Good card so far tonight.

  • THEGUNNER says:

    Real good night of fights. Bellitor can pick uo the fighters ufc cuts and put some good shows on for us fans.

  • MickeyC says:

    I also hope Belator picks up Fitch & a few of the others. I thought the fights lastnight were good, & how can u not luv the backfist mo ate. MY ONLY CONCERN is that Bellator will continue to improve with their fights and programimg just to sell to the UFC down the road.I like the compition, plus Im in no hurry for the sport of MMA to become the sport of UFC.

  • Lord Faust says:

    Amazing show, and made even better with a called shot: link.

  • Angry Mike says:

    Mo got Shonie Carter’d.

  • hindsightufuk says:

    i still dont get this obsession with Bellator having to pick up ex UFC fighters to put on good shows.
    that event had a grand total of one ex UFC fighter, they dont need to pick up UFC rejects to put on good shows, Thursday was damn near perfect, and Bellators scouts are doing an incredible job. Sure if they can grab a Fitch or an Etim i’ll be stoked, but as far as i can see they a re doing a grand job as it is.

    talking about the one former UFC fighter, Ben Saunders looked great once again, its been awesome watching him evolve since the UFC, really chuffed he and Lima get to square off again.

    definite KO of the year contender from Newton


You must be logged in to post a comment.