The Ultimate Fighter 16 kicked off its season on FX on Friday with a two hour premier. As expected, 32 fighters were selected to fight to get into the TUF house with the entire lot taking to the cage on the first episode in order to earn that honor. Like last year, the group got a chance to fight in an empty Mandalay Bay Grand Garden Arena, giving them a taste for the size and spectacle of the UFC.

It didn’t take long for coach Roy Nelson to make his presence felt either, needling UFC President Dana White a number of times including an instance of telling the hopeful competitors they should fight safely to ensure their success much like he did during his run on the series rather than go all out as White had requested. Also, surprising few, there was no love loss between Nelson and opposing team-head Shane Carwin, making for an interesting dynamic to watch unfold throughout the coming weeks.

A full list of results, as well as the team breakdowns, can be found below:

Dom Waters def. Kevin Nowaczyk via knockout round 1
Michael Hill def. Lev Magen via knockout round 1
Bristol Marunde def.  George Lockhart via submission (guillotine choke)
Mike Ricci def. Jason South via technical knockout  round 1
Julian Lane def. Diego Bautista via decision
Igor Araujo def. Cortez Coleman via submission round 3 (triangle choke)
James Chaney def. Jerel Clark via submission round 1 (triangle choke)
Cameron Diffley def. Zane Kamaka via submission round 1 (armbar)
Neil Magny def. Frank Camacho via decision
Jon Manley def. Ricky Legere Jr. via decision
Colton Smith  def. Jesse Barrett via decision
Matt Secor def. Max Griffin via submission round 3 (triangle choke)
Eddy Ellis def. David Michaud via submission round 2 (arm triangle)
Joey Rivera def Saad Awad via decision
Nic Herron-Webb def. Tim Ruberg via submission round 1 (armbar)

Sam Alvey def Leo Kuntz via knockout round 1

Team Carwin

Sam Alvey, 26, Murrieta, Calif.  (19-4)
Bristol Marunde, 30, Las Vegas, Nev. (12-7)
Mike Ricci, 26, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (7-2)
Neil Magny, 24, Chicago, Ill. (7-1)
James Chaney, 25, Klamath Falls, Ore. (7-2)
Eddy Ellis, 29, Olympia, Wash. (17-15)
Igor Araujo, 31, Albuquerque, N.M. via Patos De Minas, Brazil (22-6)

Matt Secor, 25, South Glens Falls, N.Y. (1-1)

Team Nelson

Dom Waters, 23, Santa Rosa, Calif. (5-1)
Michael Hill, 25, Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada (4-0)
Cameron Diffley, 27, Las Vegas, Nev. (3-0)
Colton Smith, 25, Fort Hood, Texas via Ankeny, Iowa (3-1)
Jon Manley, 26, Ludlow, Mass (7-1)
Nic Herron-Webb, 22, Anchorage, Alaska (14-4)
Joey Rivera, 32, Tucson, Ariz. (5-1)

Julian Lane, 25, Mansfield, Ohio (4-0)