While the UFC is planning to feature flyweights at some point in the immediate future, California’s Tachi Palace Fights promotion offered the public a taste of 125-pound action last night at TPF 10 with Ian McCall snapping opponent Darrell Montague’s four-fight winning streak to take home the organization’s divisional title.

McCall, who himself has now won a quartet of consecutive clashes after a failed run in WEC, made any Capulets in the crowd proud by using crisp striking to set up takedowns throughout the bout, surviving a scramble after being stunned with a stiff strike in the second stanza, and ultimately locking in a fight-ending Rear-Naked Choke midway through the third round. McCall improved his record to 11-2 with the performance. Both of his losses came at 135-pounds including an outpointing to current UFC king Dominick Cruz.

TPF 10 also featured losses from former champions Doug Marshall and Joe Soto.

Soto, who previously held Bellator’s featherweight belt, was no doubt was itching for action after nearly a year off due to a detached retina but ended up getting caught in Eddie Yagin’s Guillotine Choke early on, perhaps a product of ring-rust, and was forced to tap in the first frame.

Former WEC light heavyweight champ Marshall was also submitted in the opening round of action though lasted less than thirty seconds against opponent Giva Santana who won his fifth consecutive fight with the showing. Santana is now 16-1 and is considered to be one of top 185ers outside of a major MMA promotion.

Here is a complete list of TPF 10 results:

Musa Toliver def. Andy Miranda via Unanimous Decision
Brad McDonald def. Sergio Quinones via submission Round 1 (Armbar)
Kenny Ento def. Phil Collins via Knockout Round 1
Ulysses Gomez def. Drew Bittner via Submission Round 2 (Rear-Naked Choke)
Jorge Lopez def. David Marshall via TKO Round 2 (Retirement in Corner)
Giva Santana def. Doug Marshall via Technical Submission Round 1 (Rear-Naked Choke)
Jussier da Silva def. Mamoru Yamaguchi via Unanimous Decision
Eddie Yagin def. Joe Soto via Submission Round 1 (Guillotine Choke)
Ian McCall def. Darrell Montague via Submission Round 3 (Rear-Naked Choke)