A title defense by World Extreme Cagefighting welterweight champion Carlos Condit against Brock Larson that had been scheduled for WEC 39 on March 1 in Corpus Christi, Texas has been canceled due to an injury sustained by Larson.

Instead of finding a new opponent for Condit, sources have informed FiveOuncesOfPain.com that Zuffa officials have decided to transfer Condit to the UFC’s welterweight division. Additionally, Condit’s Octagon debut could take place in a televised bout during UFC Fight Night 18 on April 1 against Martin Kampmann.

Condit is 22-4 overall in a pro MMA career that began in 2002. Since joining the WEC, he is 5-0 with notable victories over Larson, Hiromitsu Miura, Carlo Prater, and John Alessio. Outside of the promotion, the 24-year old holds notable victories over Frank Trigg, Renato Verissimo, Takuya Wada, and Koji Oshi.

While a final decision has not been made, indications are that the WEC’s welterweight division could be discontinued on a permanent basis. This past December, the promotion disbanded its light heavyweight and middleweight weight classes with most of the divisions’ best fighters having subsequently been transferred to the UFC.

If the WEC moves to end its 170 pound division, fighters that could follow Condit into the UFC include Larson, Miura, Prater, former NCAA champion Johny Hendricks, American Top Team black belt Danilo Villefort, Jesse Lennox, Edgar Garcia, Alex Serdyukov, Justin Haskins, and Luis Sapo.

The WEC had made attempts in recent months to bolster the depth in its welterweight division but was unsuccessful after several fighters it had been interested in were unsuccessful in getting out of contracts with other organizations.

If Condit vs. Kampamann becomes finalized, it could serve as UFN 18’s main event. The card is set to emanate from Nashville, Tennessee with reported matchups that include season eight lightweight winner from The Ultimate Fighter Efrain Escudero taking on Jeremy Stephens; TUF 8 light heavyweight winner Ryan Bader vs. Carmelo Marrero; Tyson Griffin vs. Rafael dos Anjos; Matt Horwich vs. Ricardo Almeida; Steve Steinbeiss vs. Ryan Jensen; Aaron Simpson vs. Tim McKenzie; and Junie Browning vs. Cole Miller.