twitter google

Marcos Galvao Becomes New Bellator Bantamweight Champion

joe warren

Bellator 135 went down Friday night from Thackerville, Oklahoma on Spike TV, as Marcos Galvao earned the first submission victory of his career and became the new bantamweight champion.

Galvao locked up a knee-bar on Joe Warren, who screamed out in pain. Veteran referee John McCarthy called the contest in the second round, even though Warren never tapped.

Previously, Warren earned a controversial decision over Galvao.

The co-main event stole the show, as L.C. Davis and Hideo Tokoro put on a thrilling bantamweight contest over three rounds of back-and-forth action. The two landed a combined 41-percent of their strikes and attempted seven submissions, with Davis picking up the split decision.

Francis Carmont picked up a hard-fought decision victory over Guilherme Viana, while Ryan Couture kicked off the main card with a first round submission of Dakota Cochrane.

For Couture, the son of former UFC champion Randy Couture, it was his fourth straight rear-naked choke win, including two in a row with Bellator.

Rashad Coulter, Stephen Banaszak, Klayton Mai and Geo Pacurariu all earned finishes on the prelims, while Emmanuel Sanchez, Sean Holden and Neal Ewing claimed decisions.

Coulter, Mai and Pacurariu each finished their respective opponents in the opening round.

Complete results can be found below:

Marcos Galvao def. Joe Warren via verbal submission (knee-bar) at :45 of Round 2 to become the new Bellator bantamweight champion

L.C. Davis def. Hideo Tokoro via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Francis Carmont def. Guilherme Viana via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Ryan Couture def. Dakota Cochrane via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:23 of Round 1

Rashad Coulter def. Jeremiah O’Neal via TKO (strikes) at 1:44 of Round 1

Emmanuel Sanchez def. Alejandro Villalobos via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)

Sean Holden def. Tim Roman via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)

Neal Ewing def. Logan Nail via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Stephen Banaszak def. Brad Mitchell via submission (omoplate) at 2:51 of Round 2

Klayton Mai def. Xavier Siller via submission (neck crank) at 3:55 of Round 1

Geo Pacurariu def. J.P. Cole via submission (armlock) at 2:59 of Round 1

  • Screenplaya says:

    That Tokro/Davis fight was really good Competitive non-stop, striking, grappling, everything. Too bad the ref stopped the fight to let Davis recover from a fully legal up-kick though.

    But the real reason to watch this card is for the headliner. Not sure I have seen a fighter scream like a girl in the ring before. Definitely haven’t seen a man scream in agony, and then immediately start bitching about the stoppage, stalking around the ring, appealing to the fans, and claiming to the “baddest man on the planet.”

    That is most embarrassing thing I have seen in the ring. That shit is going to stick to Joe Warren.

  • hindsightufuk says:

    Hey Screen, I agree on the Davis Tokoro fight, that was real fun, also if anyone didn’t catch Sanchez vs Villalobos at the top of the prelims is worth a watch. Really good fight, Emmanuel Sanchez is a name to watch out for.

    And the way you described Joe Warren…. Screaming like a girl and bitching about the decision, you just described Chael Sonnen, on more than one occasion!

  • Screenplaya says:

    Hindsight – can you remind me of a time when Sonnen reached the level of Warren’s ridiculous scream/whine/self-promote in-ring performance on this card?

    I am not saying that such a moment might not exist (Sonnen said and did a ton of oddball stuff), but I am not remembering anything THIS bad.

  • hindsightufuk says:

    Maybe the aftermath wasn’t quite so petulant but the guy did scream and complain after the first Paulo Filho fight, and then there was a little screaming against Horn and Babalu, and then the tapping but not tapping against Anderson. Have to admit since watching it again, that Joe Warren took the scream to a new level, a comedy level


You must be logged in to post a comment.