twitter google

Bas Rutten, Kenny Rice To Host Bazzie Awards This Month

Bas Rutten, Kenny Rice To Host Bazzie Awards This Month

Inside MMA announced the finalists for the 2013 Bazzie Awards, which will be handed out on AXS TV Friday, December 27 at 9 p.m. ET.

Bas Rutten and Kenny Rice will host the event, which is in its sixth year of existence.

The awards are named for Rutten, a former MMA fighter himself. World Series of Fighting ring girl Emily Miller will be on stage, as well.

The category of Male Fighter of the Year will be a battle between UFC champions Jose Aldo, Anthony Pettis, Jon Jones, Demetrious Johnson and Cain Velasquez, along with contender Vitor Belfort. While he is without a belt, Belfort finished Luke Rockhold, Michael Bisping and Dan Henderson inside the calendar year.

Below are the finalists in each category:

Fight of the Year

Eddie Alvarez vs Michael Chandler II- Bellator 106

Dennis Bermudez vs Matt Grice – UFC 157

Anthony Birchak vs Ryan Benoit – MFC 37

Leonard Garcia vs Nick Gonzalez – Legacy 23

Jon Jones vs Alexander Gustafsson – UFC 165

Gilbert Melendez vs Diego Sanchez – UFC 166

Male Fighter of the Year

Jose Aldo

Vitor Belfort

Demetrious Johnson

Jon Jones

Anthony Pettis

Cain Velasquez

Female Fighter of the Year

Alexis Davis

Holly Holm

Cris “Cyborg” Justino

Julianna Pena

Ronda Rousey

Cat Zingano

Breakthrough Fighter

TJ Grant

Robbie Lawler

Conor McGregor

Khabib Nurmagomedov

Glover Teixeira

Chris Weidman

Upset of the Year

Josh Burkman vs Jon Fitch – WSOF 3

Emanuel Newton vs Mo Lawal – Bellator 90

Anthony Pettis vs Benson Henderson- UFC 164

Antonio “Bigfoot” Silva vs Alistair Overeem – UFC FN 26

Daniel Straus vs Pat Curran – Bellator 106

Chris Weidman vs Anderson Silva – UFC 162

Rising Star

Henry Cejudo

Carlos Diego Ferreira

Holly Holm

Sergio Pettis

Mike “Biggie” Rhodes

Tiffany Van Soest

KO Punch of the Year

Mark Hunt vs Stefan Struve – UFC on Fuel 8

Derrick Mehmen vs Rolles Gracie – WSOF 5

Emanuel Newton vs Mo Lawal – Bellator 90

George Pacurariu vs Steven Peterson – Legacy 19

Chris Weidman vs Anderson Silva – UFC 162

Tyron Woodley vs Josh Koscheck – UFC 167

KO Kick of the Year

Vitor Belfort vs Luke Rockhold – UFC on FX 8

Paul Daley vs Patrick Vallee – Cage Contender 16

Uriah Hall vs Adam Cella – TUF 17

Anthony Hamilton vs Smealinho Rama – MFC 38

Holly Holm vs Allanna Jones – Legacy 21

Chinzo Machida vs Brian Wood – RFA 11

Submission of the Year

Takuya Eizumi vs Teppei Masuda – Pancrase 250

Urijah Faber vs Ivan Menjivar – UFC 157

Matt Lozano vs Klayton Mai – Legacy 24

Rose Namajunas vs Kathina Catron – Invicta 5

Coty Shannon vs Justin Jovanovic – Nemesis Fighting Alliance

Patrick Ybarra vs Billy Buch – Legacy 17

Inside MMA Prime Cuts

Nick Laney’s Superman Punch KO

Claudiere Freitas’ Spinning Heel Kick KO

Collin Reuter’s Bend Over Backward KO

Alain Ngalani’s Spinning Hook Kick KO

Jinh Yu Frey’s KO of Darla Harris

Paul Gaffney’s Choke Slam KO

Zach Rosol’s Slam KO

Alida Gray’s 5 Second KO


You must be logged in to post a comment.