twitter google

Trio of bonuses still awarded at UFC 133 event minus a submission stoppage

Though lacking a “Submission of the Night” due to the absence of a tap-out on the card, UFC 133 still awarded three bonuses including a brand new award related to Dennis Hallman’s choice of ring attire – seriously.

“Knockout of the Night” and a $70,000 bonus went to Vitor Belfort after leaving Yoshihiro Akiyama face down and motionless with strikes a little less than two minutes into the opening frame of their fight.

Meanwhile, “Fight of the Night” was awarded to headliners Tito Ortiz and Rashad Evans after entertaining the crowd with back-and-forth action. In the end Evans was able to land a devastating knee to Ortiz’s body with less than a minute left in the second stanza and take home the TKO victory as a result.

Finally, a bonus playfully labeled along the lines of “Get Those Horrible Shorts Off TV” by Dana White was given to Brian Ebersole who also took home $70,000 for beating Hallman in the first round after the UFC veteran curiously opted to wear a pair of Speedo-style trunks to the fight rather than wearing the standard style of gear.


  • MCM says:

    Belfort KO was about as illegal as you can get without actually stomping someone.
    Tito/Evans was a great fight for as long as it lasted.
    And big props to Ebersole for his bonus. That’s two wins in the UFC and two O.T.N. bonus. (although Hallman should get some of it. 😉 )

  • JabCrossHook says:

    How was it illegal? Most of his shots landed on the side of akiyama’s head

  • MCM says:

    The KO shots were right to the back of the neck. It may have only been a matter of time before he was put out anyway, but the shot that stopped him from moving was definitely on the back of the neck. But that’s kinda Vitors M.O., so whatever…

  • hindsightufuk says:

    i was thinking the same thing, dont think much would have been different but still, they were illegal shots and no one even mentioned it. on another note i think the UFC were a bit hastey putting Akiyama in, no doubt he will be cut now, they should have saved him for a japan event

  • JabCrossHook says:

    MCM please rewatch the finish because I did and when akiyama was on his back vitor caught him behind the hear, there was no base of the spine shot, he missed two or three punches while akiyama was in the process of falling again….

    Akiyama’s head turned and vitor’s punches were going straight down and I’ve seen the glove land right behind Akiyama’s ear, which is legal.

  • Rece Rock says:

    Is that 2 of the night bonuses for Ortiz ? Who would of thunk it.

  • bigbadjohn says:

    All the punches leading up to the final 2 illegal blows were legitimate but the actual KOing shot and following one were blatantly illegal. Why does no media draw attention to the blind eye turned to this rule? Of course Sexiyama was going to end up losing but he didn’t have to be turned into a lifeless heap

  • MCM says:

    rewatched it, still think I’m right.

    It’s a little fast, but the last two punches are clearly on the back of the neck.

  • THEGUNNER says:

    The point is vitor wasnt striking the back of his head on purpose and if sexyama wasnt out cold maybe they would have taken a point. Its a cage fight if the ref has to protect u u lose. Sexyamas from japan theyre used to it anyway vitor shouldve soccer kicked him.

  • JabCrossHook says:

    mcm, i’ve watched that gif like ten times and the last two punches were not to the back of akiyama’s head, his head was turned to the side, it looks like the glove landed right on the side of the head

    and also even if one did land like that, it’s not like vitor did it on purpose and its not as if akiyama was going to survive anyway…

  • Sorry to jump down your throat on that other forum bad brotherman.

    I disagree JCH…i think Akiyama being the judoka he was could’ve rolled to his back and continued to defend he wasnt out when he hit the ground those hammers Vitor hit him with(twice behind the ear, which is legal during headmovement and possible clips not from backmount straight down…remember the rule is if you’re wearing headphones its everything in front of them and I think it was base of the skull no doubt) I think the final ones he tagged Franklin with were bad too and so did Rich Franklin judging by the look on his face.
    The first one Cain sent Brock down with was STRAIGHT to the back of the head…but Brock was tryin to dodge so I forgive it. Akiyama was on his face struggling…big difference.

  • Oh and Akiyama needs to drop to 170…badly


You must be logged in to post a comment.