twitter google

Junior dos Santos earns event-high salary for UFC 131 win

Top heavyweight contender Junior dos Santos is often seen smiling outside of the Octagon. Now, after seeing his payout for a three-round beatdown of Shane Carwin at UFC 131, it may be a bit easier to understand exactly why he is always so happy.

Dos Santos, born in modest surroundings to say the least, made $200,000 for his performance at the event while continuing his quest towards a shot at the UFC heavyweight title. Comparably, Carwin only netted $40,000 after weathering an F5 tornado of strikes early on to eventually fall short on the scorecards.

Their payouts, along with the rest of the fighters competing at the June 11 show, were recently released by the Vancouver Athletic Commission.

A trio of Dos Santos’ peers also cracked the six-figure mark for their efforts in Canada though, unlike “Cigano”, the entire group was assisted by bonuses in order to do so. Newly established featherweight Ken Florian was paid $130,000 for his outpointing of Diego Nunes, while the debuting Dave Herman got $106,000 thanks to a $70,000 “Fight of the Night” award on top of his regular pay and Sam Stout came away with $108,000 after winning “Knockout of the Night” for a devastating finish of veteran competitor Yves Edwards.

Read below for a full list of UFC 131 salary information including event-specific bonuses:

Darren Elkins: $16,000 (includes $8,000 win bonus) def. Michihiro Omigawa: $8,000
Joey Beltran: $24,000 (includes $12,000 win bonus) def. Aaron Rosa: $6,000
Dustin Poirier: $10,000 (includes $5,000 win bonus) def. Jason Young: $6,000
Nick Ring: $16,000 (includes $8,000 win bonus) def. James Head: $6,000
Krzysztof Soszynski: $24,000 (includes $12,000 win bonus) def. Mike Massenzio: $8,000
Chris Weidman: $90,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus, $70,000 “Submission of the Night” bonus) def. Jesse Bongfeldt: $6,000
Sam Stout: $108,000 (includes $19,000 win bonus, $70,000 “Knockout of the Night” bonus) def. Yves Edwards: $12,000
Donald Cerrone: $40,000 (includes $20,000 win bonus) def. Vagner Rocha: $6,000
Dave Herman: $106,000 (includes $18,000 win bonus, $70,000 “Fight of the Night” bonus) def. Jon Olav Einemo: $85,000 (includes $70,000 “Fight of the Night” bonus)
Mark Munoz: $60,000 (includes $30,000 win bonus) def. Demian Maia: $43,000
Kenny Florian: $130,000 (includes $65,000 win bonus) def. Diego Nunes: $12,000
Junior dos Santos: $200,000 (includes $100,000 win bonus) def. Shane Carwin: $40,000



You must be logged in to post a comment.