twitter google

Danzig vs. Wiman II expected at UFC Fight Night 22

Mac Danzig
Image via Wikipedia

After a controversial stoppage at UFC 115, it appears Matt Wiman and Mac Danzig will have a chance to tee it up and do it again at UFC fight night 22.

As many remember, Wiman was awarded a submission victory over Danzig in their first meeting by guillotine choke. Upon conclusion of the contest, it was apparent that Danzig was not stopped by the choke, but rather a referee’s decision to halt the contest.

UFC fight night 22 has not yet been officially announced, however it is expected to take place on September 15 in Texas while featuring a fight between Demian Maia and Alan Belcher which will air on SPIKE TV.

News of the rematch first broke on HEAVY.com and has since been confirmed by multiple sources.

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 COMMENTS
  • Rece Rock says:

    At least this immediate rematch has a back story with a just cause for the rematch.

  • Dufresne says:

    There’s a simple way to avoid these kinds of stoppage: pickk up the guys hand and see if there is resistance. When you’re at an event that large I can only imagin it must be difficult to hear any verbal commands, so just lean over and do a simple check before you potentially cost someone thousands of dollars or a contract.

  • Twiztid Ninja says:

    Danzig said he was posting on his leg to avoid the choke so he couldn’t give the thumbs-up or he would have been subd for real and then there would be no need for a rematch. What a shitty way to lose. Anyway Wiman by dec.

  • AlphaOmega says:

    I thought the ref did pick it up and shake it? I’m pretty sure I remember him doing that.

  • AlphaOmega says:

    I also remember that it was wiman that told the ref that danzig was out before the fight was called.

  • Kamakosmo says:

    AlphaOmega…So what!!!! The Fighter is not the Ref…the Ref is the Ref. Easy fix? Ref picks up Danzig’s arm and lets go…..Up is good, down is bad, .5 nanosecond decision made right there. Go back and watch the fight.

    TwistdNinja…not sure what you meant there, but who cares, Danzig held position for….Wiman tiring out? Or… Danzig tapping? Either way, fight called too soon, and this is a perfect rematch. Enjoy.

LEAVE A COMMENT!

You must be logged in to post a comment.