twitter google

Shinya Aoki vs. Todd Moore completes DREAM 6 lineup

DREAM has announced via its official website that a lightweight bout between Shinya Aoki and Todd Moore has been added as a twelfth fight on its upcoming DREAM 6 card scheduled for Sept. 23.

DREAM 6 will be Aoki’s first bout since losing in the finals of the promotion’s lightweight Grand Prix in June against Joachim Hansen, who had been previously eliminated in a bout against Eddie Alvarez. Hansen was reinstated into the tournament after an injury to Alvarez coupled with a victory in a tournament reserve bout.

Aoki, 17-3 with one no contest, according to Sherdog’s fight finder, previously defeated Hansen via a gogoplata submission at PRIDE Shockwave on New Year’s Eve in 2006. He also holds notable wins over Caol Uno, Gesias Calvancante, Akira Kikuchi, George Sotiropoulos, Clay French, and Kuniyoshi Hironaka.

Moore is a Houston-based fighter who compiled an impressive 9-0 record that garnered him a contract with Zuffa-owned World Extreme Cagefighting. Despite his upside potential, Moore’s record in the WEC is 0-2 with him having lost his debut via unanimous last December to John Alessio and a more recent submission loss against Shane Roller at WEC 35 this past August.

Moore is still contracted to the WEC but has received permission to accept the fight vs. Aoki outside of his contract.

DREAM 6 is set to emanate from the Saitama Super Arena in Saitama, Japan and will be televised live in the United States on HDNet. The entire card is listed below.

Middleweight Grand Prix Finals (16-man tournament):

Gegard Mousasi vs. Melvin Manhoef
Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza vs. Zelg Galesic

Middleweight Grand Prix Finals:

– Winner of Souza/Galesic vs. Winner of Mousasi/Manhoef

Grand Prix Reserve Bout:

Dong Sik Yoon vs. Andrews Nakahara

Non-Tournament Bouts:

Shinya Aoki vs. Todd Moore

Mirko Cro Cop vs. Alistair Overeem

Yoshihiro Akiyama vs. Masanori Tonooka

Sergei Kharitonov vs. “Mighty” Mo Siliga

Hayato Sakurai vs. Kuniyoshi Hironaka

Ikuhisa Minowa vs. Masakatsu Funaki

Hideo Tokoro vs. Atsushi Yamamoto

Keita Nakamura vs. Adriano Martins


You must be logged in to post a comment.